Trevliga Spel forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Building a DAW Transport for Cakewalk Sonar

2 posters

Go down

Building a DAW Transport for Cakewalk Sonar Empty Building a DAW Transport for Cakewalk Sonar

Post by freddie_tane Wed Aug 02, 2023 6:58 pm

Greetings Trevliga Spel forum folks!

Newbie here, having some learning curve hurdles, hope to learn more about best practices.
I have several questions, but will try to take one topic at a time.

Using StreamDeck Mini --> with the Trevliga Spel MIDI Plugin with 3 buttons for
Stop  (Mackie Control Stop)
Play   (Mackie Control Play)
Record (Mackie Control Record)

Windows PC running Cakewalk Bandlab (Sonar) DAW.

StreamDeck buttons are configured as a "Mackie Control" on the loopMIDI port mackie2daw with the "Sonar" layout.

StreamDeck MIDI Plug-in is the Only "device" using the mackie2daw MIDI port (daw2mackie is not used).

Cakewalk has a control surface "Mackie Control" with input from coming from the mackie2daw port.

Here is the odd behaviors at least to my semi-logical thinking:

Press StreamDeck Record button, DAW engages Record mode and transport begins rolling.

While still rolling, Pressing the StreamDeck Record button, the DAW dis-engages Record mode and transport keeps rolling.

So far, so good!

But, if, instead, while Record is engaged and transport is rolling, 
I press the StreamDeck Play button,
it acts like a STOP, and returns transport to 0:00:00

That is not how the Cakewalk program responds to it's built-in transport ...
If while it is Recording & Rolling, pressing Play in Cakewalk will indeed STOP but it Stops at that point in time (it does not return to 0:00:00).  I've checked all Cakewalk settings regarding that, and that option is set to Off.

Should I be using another feature of the MIDI Plugin like Sysex or MMC or Scripting Variables (!)